Environmental Information System Centre – Urbanisation

In Tamil Nadu out of the 151 Municipalities and 5 Corporations, only 15 Municipalities and 4 Corporations have partial under ground sewerage system.

Sewage schemes are under implementation in the municipal towns of Erode, Pallipalayam, Bhavani and Komarapalayam and Tiruchirappalli corporation located along river Cauvery under the National River Action Plan.

Further, new sewerage schemes under the National River Conservation Programme (NRCP) have been taken up in Tiruchirappalli, Madurai, Tirunelveli Corporations and Karur and Inam Karur, Kumbakonam, Thanjavur and Mayiladuthurai Municipalities.

During the year 2004-05 a policy decision was taken to provide under ground sewerage scheme in the remaining 22 district head quarters towns.

Apart from this, underground sewage schemes will also be taken up for the municipal towns in the Chennai metropolitan area. With a view to help people of all categories, especially economically weaker sections and low income groups, a new system called low cost sanitation scheme has been introduced in urban areas.

So far 1,57,336 latrines all over the State have been taken up for conversion of dry latrine to flush latrines. Surface drainage is another aspect generally neglected in urban areas.